CFDA Fashion Awards 2014: Rihanna, Altuzarra And Tom Ford Are The Night's Big Winners

03 June 2014 by


The great and good of the fashion industry descended on NYC's Lincoln Centre last night for the 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards (that’s the Council of Fashion Designers of America, darrrling).

The annual style extravaganza - unofficially known as the 'Oscars of Fashion' - celebrates the stars and designers making a splash in the industry with the likes of Rihanna, Tom Ford and Altuzarra scooping the top prizes this year. Here are the five big winners this year…

1. Rihanna

Rihanna was the big winner of the night, bagging the Fashion Icon award. Of course, being Rihanna, the star took to the stage in a *totally* sheer Adam Selman gown made out of just fishnet and 216,000 Swarovski crystals. 'Anna Wintour makes the rules and I break them,' said Ri. 'As long as I can remember, fashion has been my defense mechanism. As a child I remember thinking, she can beat me but she cannot beat my outfit. I can compensate for all of my weaknesses with fashion.'

2. Tom Ford

The other star of the evening was Tom Ford, who was honoured with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. 'It’s been a wonderful 25 years and I could have never achieved it without all the people in this room,' he said while collecting the prize. 


3. Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra

Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra was crowned this year’s Womenswear Designer of the Year. The designer is a three-time CFDA Award Nominee and winner of the CFDA Fashion Fund in 2011. Launched in 2008 Altuzarra is known for its feminine shapes and sophisticated laid-back vibe.

4. Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row

Accessories Designer of the Year went to Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row. The duo beat Alexander Wang and Proenza Schouler for the big prize, taking to the stage in all-black ensembles. It's not their first win at the CFDAs, they were presented with the award for Womenswear Designer of the Year in 2012.


5. Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne

The winners of Menswear Designer Of The Year? Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne for Public School. The duo are fond of a monochrome palette and impressed with a collection of streetwear-cool garms this season. 

And here's the full list of winners….

Womenswear Designer Of The Year - Joseph Altuzarra

Menswear Designer Of The Year - Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne, Public School

Accessories Designer Of The Year - Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Swarovski Award For Womenswear - Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters, Creatures of the Wind0

Swarovski Award For Menswear - Tim Coppens

Swarovski Award For Accessories - Irene Neuwirth

The Founder's Award In Honour Of Eleanor Lambert - Bethann Hardison

Board of Director's Tribute - Ruth Finley

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award - Tom Ford

International Award - Raf Simons for Dior

The Media Award In Honour of Eugenia Sheppard - Paul Cavaco

Fashion Icon Award - Rihanna

See all the best looks from this year's red carpet... 


All posts must obey the house rules, if you object to any comments please let us know and we'll take the appropriate action.