Alexa to sparkle at the Swarowski CFDA Awards!

07 June 2010

Hurrah for the Brits, once again!  Not only are our fave home grown designers; Christopher Bailey of Burberry for the International Award –and Alexander McQueen for with their judges’ posthumous Special Tribute Award, being honoured - but UK successes abroad  Ed Westwick and Alexa Chung will be proving how at home they are in the world of New York fashion by helping to dole out some of the gongs at tonight's CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America, presided over by DVF) ceremony. [WWD]

Fashwanistas over there are anxiously peering at the heavens at the moment, and crossing their fingers and toes for a dry night as sponsors of the event, Swarovski, have created an outdoor terrace space where they plan to hold the dinner section of the evening.

The CFDA [Council of Fashion Designers of America] awards are the industry ‘Fashion Oscars’ giving recognition to established figures (like Michael Kors, who will get the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award) plus three separate bursaries to young, shining stars just out of college, who will win plaudits and grants to help them grow their own businesses as well as acknowledging the standout collections of each year.

The Womenswear Designer of the Year Award Award really does reflect the spectrum of American fashion at the moment, from the rising talent of Alexander Wang to the modern vision of Marc Jacobs to the timeless woman-friendly chic of Donna Karan.

Meanwhile, over on the accessories front, the nominees are: 80’s HERO Alexis Bittar (rumoured to be taking brand 'face' Joan Collins as his +1 tonight), plus Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler’s genius shoes and bags, and the becoming-somewhat-ubitquitous-on the-lists Marc Jacobs.

The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Michael Bastian, Tom Ford, and Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone. 

the Proenza Schouler boys with muse Chloe Sevigny

The Swarowski Awards (for a generous sum of cash as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources) are up for grabs between Joseph Altuzarra, Prabal Gurung, and Jason Wu for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Menswear are Richard Chai, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr. For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Eddie Borgo, Dana Lorenz, and Alexander Wang

The whole shebang promises to be a sparkling evening. (Boom boom!) And, to refer back to our earlier point, we don’t think you’d win many prizes for guessing that Alexa will wear Burberry to the event, giving a boost to a fellow Brit brand. Can’t wait to see if we are right!



All posts must obey the house rules, if you object to any comments please let us know and we'll take the appropriate action.