Michelle Obama’s fashion tribute

17 March 2009

The Americans are very quick off the post-fashion-week mark, and have already announced the nominees for Council of Fashion Designers of America Awards – the CFDAs, if you please. But for all the gongs that Marc Jacobs, Proenza Schouler and Vera Wang are in the running for, we are most excited by the Board of Director's Special Tribute award, the winner of which has already been announced as none other than First Lady Michelle Obama. Very well deserved too, for who knows if both Thakoon and Jason Wu would have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear, which honours emerging talent, had Michelle not represented them both during the Presidential race. She has been applauded for her support of young talent, and clearly the fashion industry knows her worth. Does this mean that Michelle will make an appearance at the ceremony on 15 June? We hope so, as even with all the fashion designers in America, nothing adds glamour like a First Lady. [WWD]

Full list of nominees

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Narciso Rodriguez
Rodarte's Kate and Laura Mulleavy

Accessory Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Vera Wang
Proenza Schouler

Nominees for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Thakoon Panichgul
Alexander Wang
Jason Wu

The Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Albertus Q
Alejandro Ingelmo
Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry

Board of Director's Special Tribute
Michelle Obama

International Award

Marc Jacobs for his work at Louis Vuitton

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Anna Sui


All posts must obey the house rules, if you object to any comments please let us know and we'll take the appropriate action.